1. Home
  2. About AJC
  3. About ASEAN-Japan Centre

About ASEAN-Japan Centre

Membership, History and Mandates


The eleven members of the ASEAN-Japan Centre are (in alphabetical orders):


The ASEAN-Japan Centre was established on May 25, 1981 based on the Agreement Establishing the ASEAN Promotion Centre on Trade, Investment and Tourism (hereinafter, “The Agreement”) signed by the government of the Association of the Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN), then consisting of the Republic of Indonesia, Malaysia, the Republic of the Philippines, the Republic of Singapore and the Kingdom Thailand, and Japan. Later Brunei Darussalam (June 8, 1990), the Socialist Republic of Vietnam (February 12, 1998), the Kingdom of Cambodia (June 11, 2001), Lao People’s Democratic Republic (March 20, 2002) and finally, the Republic of the Union of Myanmar (April 27, 2006) officially acceded to the Agreement. Now all the 10 ASEAN countries and Japan are members of the Centre.

Originally, the Secretariat was located on the 6th floor of the World Import Mart Building, Sunshine City in Ikebukuro, Tokyo. In April 1987, the Centre was relocated to the Central Building in Ginza 4-chome. In March 2009, the Centre was relocated to the Shin Onarimon Building in Shimbashi, where it currently remains.



The four main objectives of the ASEAN-Japan Centre are:

  • to promote export from ASEAN to Japan;

  • to accelerate flow of investment between ASEAN and Japan;

  • to vitalize tourist traffic between ASEAN and Japan; and

  • to  expand exchanges of persons between ASEAN and Japan