1. Home
  2. About AJC
  3. About ASEAN-Japan Centre

About ASEAN-Japan Centre


The ASEAN-Japan Centre consists of a Council, an Executive Board and a Secretariat.



  • The supreme policy-making body of the organization, consisting of 11 directors appointed by and representing each Member State
  • Approves the annual program and budget, appoints the Secretary General, etc.


Council Directors of the ASEAN-Japan Centre, as of September 2018

Brunei Darussalam

Mr. Hakashah Abd Samad

Head of Trade Promotion Section

Department of Economic Cooperation

Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Kingdom of Cambodia

H.E. Mr. Ouk Sorphorn
General Department of ASEAN
Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation

Republic of Indonesia

Ms. Arlinda

Director General

National Export Development

Ministry of Trade


Mr. Shigeki Takizaki


Southeast and Southwest Asian Affairs Department

Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Lao People’s Democratic Republic

Mr. Phongsavanh Sisoulath


ASEAN Department

Ministry of Foreign Affairs


Mr. Ahmad Hisham Idris

Senior Director

ASEAN Economic Integration Division

Ministry of International Trade and Industry (MITI)

Republic of the Union of Myanmar

H.E. U Thurain Thant Zin

Ambassador of the Republic of the Union of Myanmar

Republic of the Philippines

Mr. Eduardo M.R. Menez

Deputy Chief of Mission

Embassy of the Republic of the Philippines in Japan

Republic of Singapore

Mr. Tan Soon Kim

Assistant Chief Executive

Enterprise Singapore

Kingdom of Thailand

Mrs. Chantira Jimreivat Vivatrat


Department of International Trade Promotion (DITP)

Ministry of Commerce

Socialist Republic of Vietnam

Mr. Vu Ba Phu

Director General

Vietnam Trade Promotion Agency (VETRADE)

Ministry of Industry and Trade


Executive Board

  • Consists of 11 representatives appointed by each Member State
  • Supervises the activities of the Secretariat so that the decisions of the Council are implemented
  • Advises the Secretary General when necessary



  • The executive arm of the organization. Led by the Secretary General, it consists of the Office of Secretary General, the Office of General Affairs and one operational department consisting of the Research and Policy Analysis (RPA) Cluster, the Capacity Building (CB) Cluster, the Trade and Investment (TI) Cluster and the Tourism and Exchange (TE) Cluster
  • Executes the annual program and implements the decisions of the Council




>> Related information