1. Home
  2. About ASEAN
  3. Introduction of ASEAN Countries

Introduction of ASEAN Countries


About the national flag
There are 14 red and white equal strips with the red band on top and ends with the white band at the bottom. These strips mark the membership of the 13 states and a Federal Territory. The red strips indicate heroic bravery and the white strips on the other hand, mean purity. The yellow of the crescent and star is the Royal colour of the Malay Rulers.
“Look East Policy” is a symbol of Malaysia’s and Japan’s amicable relations
Malaysia is a multi-ethnic nation where diverse cultures coexist in harmony. The Malay culture thrives side by side with Chinese and Hindu communities. Malaysia is blessed with tropical rainforest, a part of which is said to be the world’s oldest rainforests and designated as a world natural heritage site for the value of its diverse eco-system. Taking advantage of its abundant natural resources, it traditionally had an economy based on rubber processing and tin mining. Since 1970, however, it has been actively attracting foreign capital and promoting industrialization and technology transfer, which has led to a significant economic growth. Malaysia is now moving forward with long-term development policies through its socio-economic development concept designated “Vision 2020”, which aims to become a fully developed nation by 2020. Malaysia’s “Look East Policy”, initiated by Tun. Dr. Mahathir Mohamad, then Prime Minister of Malaysia, in 1981, mainly promoting human resource development through learning from Japanese experiences, symbolizes the friendly and cooperative relationship between Malaysia and Japan, in which Japan readily cooperates in accommodating Malaysian students and researchers to broaden their horizons in Japan.
Embassy of Malaysia in Japan
20-16 Nampeidai-cho, Shibuya-ku Tokyo 150-0036 Tel: +81-3-3476-3840
Land Area 331,388k㎡
Population 32,800,000(2019, estimates)
Capital Kuala Lumpur
Political System Constitutional Monarchy
Major Languages Malay, English, Chinese, Tamil
Major Religions Islam, Buddhism, Christianity
Currency Ringgit